Home
    Review FAQ's Reviews Home · Search · Member List · Register · Login 

Reviews Home » Main » Gear Reviews » Miscellaneous « Previous Product 

ThermaCELL - Mosquito Repellent:
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 31799 Sat December 24, 2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 7.2
TRT_Holster.jpg


Click to View Large Image

Click to View Large Image

Click to View Large Image

Description: ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent creates an odorless 15 x 15-foot zone of protection that is up to 98% effective in repelling mosquitoes and other biting insects. The appliance operates on a single butane cartridge, which heats a mat releasing allethrin, an insect repellent that is a synthetic copy of a natural insecticide found in chrysanthemum flowers. Each mat contains enough repellent for four hours of protection and each butane cartridge will operate the unit for 12 hours.

ThermaCELL now offers a convenient way to transport the popular appliance in and out of the woods — the ThermaCELL Holster. This convenient holster, previously only available in Olive Green, is now available in Team REALTREE® Hardwoods Green HD™.

The Team REALTREE Holster is constructed of heat resistant 600D polyester with two polyurethane coatings and a water resistant coating making it durable and water resistant. The holster snugly fits around the standard size ThermaCELL appliance, has two side pouches to carry additional butane cartridges and repellent pads, has a nylon-webbing strap with a quick release snap for ease of attachment, and new for the Team REALTREE version, a nylon-webbing belt loop. The Holster offers a hands-free method of transporting the ThermaCELL appliance and also enables the user to securely attach the appliance to a tree stand or boat. MSRP for the Team REALTREE Holster is $12.99.

ThermaCELL, a division of The Schawbel Corporation of Bedford, Massachusetts, utilizes patented technology to create cordless, portable appliances powered by replaceable butane cartridges. For more information on ThermaCELL’s complete line of products or store locations please visit www.thermacell.com or call 1-8-NO-SKEETERS (866-753-3837).

Keywords: ThermaCELL, bug repellent, mosquito black fly repellent


Author
Post a Review 
Vance in AK.
Pooh-Bah

Registered: January 2004
Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 2183
Review Date: Sun August 19, 2007
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It Works!!!!
Cons: Expensive to use often, ignitor on mine is loud & you sometimes need to click it several times.

This product does it's job well. I used it here in Alaska moose hunting 2 yrs ago. we had a really bad bug year. 100% DEET & they were still all over you even if they weren't biting. Used the thermacell sitting on the edges of lakes watchingfor moose & within just a minute or two from the time I would get it going I would have a gug free zone around me. Occassionaly one would fly past, but they never slowed down. The bugs were bad enough that you could actually hear them flying outside of the safety zone it created. To be honest I wouldn't have spent near the time in the woods that year without it. As I mentioned, the only problem with mine is that sometimes you need to pres the ignitor button several times & it's (the ignitor) rather noisy. I would have given it a 10 if not for the ignitor.

------------------------------
Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
"But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
steveus
stranger

Registered: February 2006
Location: GA
Posts: 19
Review Date: Wed February 13, 2008
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Works great, just like Vance said. Don't know how I used to spring gobbler hunt without it.
Cons: Igniter is loud, will scare a turkey, so I light it when I park the truck

I live in South Georgia near the Okefenokee Swamp, one of the worst places for mosquitos in the country. Haven't had one bite me while using the Thermacell. Will not last forever, but going price is around $20-25 bucks, worth replacing them when I need to. I use them spring turkey hunting, deer, dove, and some fishing. Good product.

------------------------------
Please join the NRA!!!
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
handguns4me
newbie

Registered: June 2008
Location: Cleveland TN
Posts: 44
Review Date: Sat June 28, 2008
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good product
Cons:

I have used this product from Alaska to Tennessee to South Florida. It generally works good, Had same problem with ignitor. Sometimes wind can downplay effectiveness but the same wind keeps the bugs at bay. I don't like to apply harsh chemicals when I'm in the backcountry for days, so this is a little added wait and lost space but well worth it. Be careful attempting to fly with fuel cells. TSA will sound the alarms if in a airline bag.

------------------------------
"Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds." Albert Einstein
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
gene r
newbie

Registered: August 2008
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 47
Review Date: Thu August 21, 2008
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Here in the swamps of South Carolina the mosquitoes will carry you away, my wife both boys and myself use this all the time. It works, and well worth $25
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
Cowboy_Boogie

stranger

Registered: September 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 29
Review Date: Mon October 13, 2008
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight, quiet, easy to use
Cons:

Here in Texas it can still be 85-90 degrees on opening day of deer season. This little product keeps the annoying, buzzing pests away while letting the real game still come in close without being alarmed. I would highly recommend this product for warm weather use.

------------------------------
S&W 629 P.C. Special Edition 1/200
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
Bigjohn
member

Registered: October 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 135
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It does what it's suppose to do
Cons:

I got mine free from Winchester for buying 2 boxes of their super X turkey loads. It works well enough that when it's time to buy one I will have no problem parting with the $23. As far as being expensive to use...how much bug dope would it take to protect you and anyone else with in a 15' circle of you for 12 hours?? Not so pricey when you think of it that way
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
223AIfan
newbie

Registered: October 2009
Posts: 38
Review Date: Mon October 12, 2009
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ease of use, overall size
Cons:

This is the most important item in my pack for early season hunting here in MS. Within 2-3 minutes of turning it on NO MORE mosquitoes. DON'T forget the refills Smile . It seems like I get 10-12 hours per butane bottle.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
S.B.

enthusiast

Registered: October 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 308
Review Date: Sat October 24, 2009
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros:
Cons: Smell

My son told me that on a recent bear hunt in Maine, the guide told him he's never had a bear killed by a hunter using this. This from a guide service of near 100%? Steve

------------------------------
"The Original Point and Click Interface was a Smith & Wesson."
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
S.B.

enthusiast

Registered: October 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 308
Review Date: Sat October 24, 2009
Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros:
Cons: Smell

My son told me that on a recent bear hunt in Maine, the guide told him he's never had a bear killed by a hunter using this. This from a guide service of near 100%? Steve

------------------------------
"The Original Point and Click Interface was a Smith & Wesson."
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
S.B.

enthusiast

Registered: October 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 308
Review Date: Sun April 4, 2010
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: Smell?

Both my oldest son and his son(my grandson) took black bears in Maine last fall. Before the hunt their guide told them about his bad experiences with this product and lack of clients success while using it. Guide's success rate is up near 100% without it and drops drastically with hunters using this device. Evidently bears can smell it, even if other game can't.

------------------------------
"The Original Point and Click Interface was a Smith & Wesson."
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
MIHunter

Pooh-Bah

Registered: March 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1825
Review Date: Wed December 1, 2010
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It works great!
Cons:

I used one on my fall bear hunt in Manitoba this year. As soon as we turned it on the bugs went away. About an hour later I killed my bear.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
RJL61
stranger

Registered: December 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 5
Review Date: Sat December 24, 2011
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: I have used it for camping and fishing and it worked well. I too wondered about scent for hunting so I have not used it yet for a hunt.
Cons: My igniter can require several strikes to ignite, but it always does.

Great for camping, fishing, evening outdoor concerts, picnics. Havent used for hunting but I will try it.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.