Home
    Review FAQ's Reviews Home · Search · Member List · Register · Login 

Reviews Home » Main » Handgun Reviews « Previous Product 

Freedom Arms: Model 83 - 500 Wyoming Express
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 30246 Mon November 16, 2015
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,875.00 9.8
gsmith_060904_03048.jpg
Click to View Large Image


Description: Gun: Freedom Arms Model 83 Barrel: 7 1/2" non-ported Caliber: 500 Wyoming Express (W.E.)

Introduced in late 2005, the 500 W.E. is an unusual revolver cartridge in that is sports a belt just like the belted magnum rifle cartridges. Bullet weights range from 350 grains to around 500 grains. Optimal weights are 350-400 grains for most hunting applications.

Keywords: Freedom Arms 50 Caliber 500 Wyoming Express Big Bore Single Action Revolver


Author
Post a Review 
Gary

Distinguished Expert

Registered: December 2003
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 4989
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The build quality of these guns is unmatched.
Cons: Expensive but you get your money's worth.

In my opinion, and a whole lot of others too, Freedom Arms guns are the most comfortable to shoot big-bore single action revolvers available. They are certainly unmatched in build. I have been told that if you have very large hands they are not quite as easy to shoot but I find it hard to believe any other brands are better because I've shot nearly all the others. The 500 W.E. is my limit on heavy recoiling revolvers but it is manageable with bullets up to about 1500 fps. My gun has a 7 1/2 inch barrel which is about the perfect length for a primary hunting revolver and it is not ported. It did have a trigger job from the factory. It's hard to believe, but it is lighter and smoother than the stock trigger.

This big .50 caliber is delivered in a manageable package, something that sets it apart from other fifties; you don't have to hire a gun bearer to haul it around.

------------------------------
You can't wait any longer. Join the NRA and start writing your Congressmen and Senators.

Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepageVisit this user's products  
jamesfromjersey

Shootist

Registered: January 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7388
Review Date: Sat February 2, 2008
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best single action on the market
Cons: The cylinder does not rotate freely

I don`t own a 500Wyoming but I do have 4 other Freedom Arm`s revolvers in 357- 44mag- 454 Casull- and 475 Linebaugh. For me they are the finest single actions on the market. Their strength is incredable their accuracy is pinpoint. I once told another handgun hunter that if I was to do it all over again I would buy Freedom Arm`s model 83 handguns in the following caliber`s: 41mag-44mag-454Casull- 475 Linebaugh. I would also purchase a 22lr/mag and a 357 in the smaller model 97. My ultimate Freedom Arms battery...

------------------------------
Life member-NRA-SCI-NAHC
Member-HHI #2900-HHASA #067
Colt-Ruger-Freedom Arms-and S&W Collector Assoc.s
"I have more guns then I need but not as many as I want" "Handgun hunters HAVE to be good"
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
handguns4me
newbie

Registered: June 2008
Location: Cleveland TN
Posts: 44
Review Date: Sat June 28, 2008
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great craftsmanship
Cons:

I have a FA .475 and its my second favorite next to my Performance Center 500, I think its my best looking gun 4 inch with ports but I have to watch my loads, I have large hands and if I'm not careful trigger guard can bite. I would never part with it just need to watch going full powerhouse loads over 385 grains. They are amazing guns to own, shoot and hunt with.

------------------------------
"Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds." Albert Einstein
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
David L
stranger

Registered: September 2009
Location: north carolina
Posts: 21
Review Date: Wed September 30, 2009
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very smooth action and well balanced
Cons: 1 negative aspect--- I dont have one in 44 mag

I am new to handgun hunting but have done a fair amount of shooting handguns. I own the 475 linebaugh mod 83 premiere grade. Honed action,trigger job set at 3 lbs with a barrel lenght of 6 inches.While I am still getting use to the recoil of this powerful round. It is not painful to shoot.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
tradmark
Pooh-Bah

Registered: June 2010
Posts: 1891
Review Date: Thu June 10, 2010
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build quality, accuracy
Cons: none

i have the FA 83 in 454 in both 7.5 and 10" barrels, both with trigger job, both with overtravel screws, one with the hardwood grips, one with the micarta, prefer the hardwood b/c they slide less. both superbly accurate pistols capable of right around moa accuracy off a rest with a scope at 100 yards. i've taken about 45-50 heads of game from buffalo to deer and hogs with these pistols and i now pretty much hunt exclusively with them. no negatives and the 500WE is just another one of the great calibers these pistols are chambered in. definitely like them and having shot my bud's 500WE it's definitely the most comfortable normal sized 50 cal pistol i've shot.
Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
pauly
stranger

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri April 19, 2013
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best hanguns I have ever owned
Cons: only owning two

I own a model 83 premier grade 7.5" .357 and love it so much I have just bought the same model in .41 magnum and I find myself considering which one is next on the buy list , these things are just like Lays chips cant just stop at one ( and who wants to )

Regards Paul .

Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  
ryan787
stranger

Registered: November 2015
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon November 16, 2015
Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

.500WE is Jack Huntingtons' .500JRH with a belt added.:rolleyes:

The .500JRH is one of my favorite calibers, and, with 430 grain bullets at 1350 fps, or even 440's at 950 fps, it's going to penetrate like crazy, like side to side on bison, buffalo, and near 5-6 ft length ways.

The game ranch guys seem to think it hit's like a .375 H&H rifle.

I find both very shootable, but, I'd stay away from a steady diet of full house loads.

The loading data from the two are near identical, and the .475 is the starting point for the .500JRH loading data. IIRC, the .500WE is loaded REAL hot, and, the added pressure, or max loads in any of the three calibers is into the point of not much for a ton of recoil category.

---------------------- Ryan

http://www.hitsticker.com | http://www.printradiant.com | http://www.adstateagent.com

Click here to see this users profileVisit this user's products  


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.