Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#73375 - 08/14/10 08:27 AM What is the diff btwn LFN, WFN and WLN designs?
Matabele
journeyman

Hi all,

I apologise if this is something pretty obvious but could someone explain what the differences are between each design? I assume it relates to meplat diameter? What effect do the different designs have on accuracy, terminal performace etc.? Do you aim to shoot each in a certain velocity range for best accuracy?

Oh and what is the difference bewteen a boolit and bullet, if any? Never heard of a boolit before today.

Im new to all this but man its fun once you get into the details!

Thanks in advance!

#73388 - 08/14/10 01:54 PM Re: What is the diff btwn LFN, WFN and WLN designs? [Re: Matabele]
doc with a glock
old hand

Loc: Montana, USA

matabele,

I'll try to answer a few of these questions. The term "boolit" is "slang" for a cast bullet, jacketed being called a "bullet. LFN = long, flat nose, long ogive (taper from shank - bore diameter part of the bullet) to the nose, and generally a smaller meplat (flat nose). WFN = wide, flat nose, shorter ogive and wider meplat. WLN = wide long nose, this is a hybridized description, kinda of a blend between the two previously mentioned types. Much of the language comes from Veral Smith of LBT molds. However, in bullets with the same overall length, the bullet with a longer shank, and hence shorter ogive, tends to stabilize better (assuming the right rate of rifling twist for the velocity) then the shorter shank bullet and usually results in better extended range accuracy. Again, one has to determine the maximum range they expect for the use of the bullet. A wide flat nose bullet tends to disrupt tissue to a greater degree, causing a larger wound channel and possibly less penetration than a bullet with a smaller meplat; but, it is less aerodynamic and tends to be "less" stable and accurate at longer ranges.