Page 4 of 8 « First<23456>Last »
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#186288 - 11/13/17 02:40 PM Re: Hornady 300 grain XTP Mag bullet concerns [Re: tradmark]
bigmike51
stranger

I am pretty new to handgun hunting and I don?t have experience with the ?old? vs the ?new? xtp?s, but I used a 240gr .454 to try to take down a ram that was getting a little too comfortable around people. Shot that thing in the vitals at damn near 5 yards (we have it on video) and it didn?t even turn and look at me. Shot again, and it just started trotting off with the herd. Last shot into the shoulder finally took it down. I?ve never had a Barnes fail to kill what I was shooting at, be it a small doe or a good sized oryx. That was the first and last time I used an XTP. They?re cheap, but not cheap enough

#186289 - 11/13/17 03:29 PM Re: Hornady 300 grain XTP Mag bullet concerns [Re: bigmike51]
Ernie
Distinguished Expert

Loc: Gillette, Wyoming

What did the autopsy show from where the first two shots went?

#186293 - 11/13/17 04:47 PM Re: Hornady 300 grain XTP Mag bullet concerns [Re: Ernie]
bigmike51
stranger

One shot through the vitals failed to open, just penciled through. Second shot was nothing but small fragments through a narrow wound channel. Both shots in the lungs, but no major vessels hit. Have had similar shots on deer with the barnes that blew almost fist sized holes into the lungs.

#186294 - 11/13/17 04:49 PM Re: Hornady 300 grain XTP Mag bullet concerns [Re: tradmark]
jamesfromjersey Moderator
Shootist

Loc: New Jersey

Originally Posted By: tradmark

How about the xtp performance on your sika? Onviously dead but how would that translate into a bigger animal.

How would that translate into a bigger animal??? Read on......