Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#179921 - 03/31/17 04:49 PM How Do You Hunt With A Specialty Pistol?
spinsail
stranger

Loc: SC

I'm not sure I am using the correct terminology but I am referring to pistols like the Encore and the various bolt action pistols.

I have not read all of the articles yet but a question has come to mind that I have not yet seen mentioned. Is it possible to shoot a scoped specialty pistol offhand?

I read the article on field positions and see photos of guys using an Encore with shooting sticks or braced against a tree. I assume prone with a backpack or bipod rest are also good choices. But I prefer to still hunt and the brush pretty much rules out any prone or sitting shots. I know I can still use sticks or a tree but I am curious whether the balance and weight of these pistols allows effective offhand shots.

I have no experience with scoped handguns so I also wonder about eye relief if one can, in fact, shoot offhand but I will make that a separate question for another thread.

#179922 - 03/31/17 05:21 PM Re: How Do You Hunt With A Specialty Pistol? [Re: spinsail]
AK hgunner1
addict

Loc: 49th. State

I wobble....But every now and then I get the gun to stay still long enough.

A rest is best....

Matthew 5:9
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called the sons of GOD

#179924 - 03/31/17 05:31 PM Re: How Do You Hunt With A Specialty Pistol? [Re: spinsail]
karl
enthusiast

Loc: Minnesota

Eye relief depends on the scope. Handgun scopes typically have enough eye relief that you HAVE to hold the gun at arm's length. Some folks here use rifle scopes, find their target and then back off the scope some before shooting (typically, low/no recoil setups with muzzle breaks). Google the "taco pistol hold"